An odd occurrence, a little hope

Today I checked my bank balance to find out that I have more than 100K₪ more than I thought I had.  T(he) H(usband) got on the phone to the guy who supposedly knows all about this stuff, and it seems it is money to pay for my w/c van.  However we’ve received nothing, no letter, no information to tell us what we are supposed to do with this largess.  Our guy says to just leave it there in our bank account until we get something from b’tuach leumi.  I have mixed feelings about this.  On the one hand, it seems a fairly solid indicator that I actually WILL receive a wheel chair van at some point.  I don’t see them just throwing this kind of huge sum at me without there is a wheelchair van somewhere.  On the other hand, it really scares me having so much money that doesn’t belong to me.  It is in the bank, it’s not like I can lose it or anything.  Yet it feels like a huge responsibility.  *sigh*  I just can’t be happy.  Is the flaw in me?  That’s a joke.

 

The household survived the run up to Pesach (Passover), but it was a near thing.  We were all of us literally sleep-walking and sleep-working.  Things got packed, things got cleaned, things got bought and things got cooked.  My youngest daughter is a wonderful cook, and prepared a most delicious seder meal, just about single-handed.  I’ve done such things in years past when I was less disabled, but still it feels like too much to put on one of my children.  Still, no choice is no choice.  TH was working flat out – on the new house, on driving people to where the needed to be, taking me shopping, and let us not forget he does have a job.  Both in-house sons worked very hard.  My teenager admitted to me that he felt ‘lazy,’ because he wasn’t able to keep working past exhaustion the way the adults in the household were.  I don’t know how helpful I was, but I did suggest to him that his time would come; and he should appreciate the fact that at this stage of life  he shouldn’t be working as hard as the adults.  A few times somebody snapped, but no major temper flares suggest that we must all get along pretty well, overall.

 

My youngest daughter prepared the salon, moving boxes out and making it look a little bit less like the site of an execution in the house, although nothing was going to make it look cozy and haemish.  All this and she is in the army, too!

 

We are on our second day of winding down a little bit from all of that frantic preparation.  Youngest daughter and her boyfriend, her bf’s sister and my oldest son are all off at a science fiction convention in Tel Aviv today.  Youngest son is chilling out in front of the computer, and TH is having fun building a ramp up to the front door of the new house.  It is his idea of fun, and I need to ramp so I am really very happy about it.  Once we move in, then, I should never have to cope with stairs to get in and out of my home again.  It is a huge step towards having some independence, and combined with the van (whenever it finally materializes) means I should be able to do things like go shopping All By Myself!

 

That’s the dream, but in the meantime, TH is going to lose the horrible work car, and we have yet to figure out what it will be replaced with.  Our present thought is that we will rent a car privately until such time as the w/c van is here.  Other times we talk about buying a new, formerly leased vehicle.  Still other times we’ve thought about taking a new work car from the new employer.   There are many plusses and minuses to be weighed, and  I don’t know if we will know until we find ourselves up against the wire.  The horrible car from the current employer goes away by April 30th, and TH doesn’t start the new job until May 3rd, so we will be renting a car to cover that gap at least.

 

We were under the impression, when we moved to Israel, that it was possible to get anywhere you need to in the country using the bus network.  That may have been true once (although I doubt it), it certainly isn’t true where we live.  When we moved here there were no busses that served the moshav.  Since then Egged was forced by the gub’mint to ‘serve’ our moshav, and so they started a new bus route – it comes onto the moshav at noon and at one p.m.  Basically if you have, say, a doctor’s appointment, you can use the busses to either get *to* the appointment and get home any way you can, or else get to town any way you can and then take the bus home.  That really helps, don’t you think?  So having a car is a necessity for us.  There are people on the moshav who survive without a car – they get rides from people with cars (like us), and don’t make many trips generally.

 

This is where I find myself today.  Enjoying the reduction in pressure that getting through the seder represents.  Trying not to stress too much about moving house, changing cars, changing life circumstances (youngest daughter getting out of the army, for instance) and money.  At least I’m not stressing about being in the minus (means having an overdraft).  Many thanks for strange favours.

 

Be well, all, and Gd bless

Leave a Reply

