What’s good

Two days later. Two incredibly full and busy days in which rockets fell, guns fired, and life went on. Life goes on. I am not sure what more I have to say. Anyone who knows what it is like doesn’t need my little attempts at describing the indescribable. Those who don’t, won’t ever understand, not really.

Ours is a small war. It involves a few miles of border, only a few millions of people are affected really. Lots of people play that it affects them, but it really doesn’t.

I’m still stunned that people who can’t even find Israel properly on a map have the unmitigated gall to act superior and judgmental – to pass judgment on how we live and our right to be here. Those same people couldn’t tell you where Gaza is in the world, or what countries actually border Israel, or Gaza. But they know who is right and who is not!

I read something interesting from a fellow who lives in a Muslim country – a fairly peaceful one, which doesn’t end up in the news very often. He was making some very logical points that seemed to show how Israel is lying and justifying it’s aggression through blaming the victims – those poor Palestinians. You know, the ones who just can’t help themselves from kidnapping and murdering children, and launching rockets against us, the aggressors.

It was very sad, because everything that he said made a certain logical sense – if you don’t have any actual knowledge of the situation here, the facts as they have unfolded. For instance, he thinks that the IDF is making up the stories about the ‘terror tunnels’ (as they are now calling them – terrible name), because he thinks if they had tunnels then why would they stand on the other side of the border launching rockets? Why wouldn’t they come into Israel to attack us?

It makes a certain kind of sense. I wonder if anyone will ever tell him that there were plans to use those tunnels – plans to launch a terrible attack on Rosh HaShanah, intending to kill hundreds or thousands of innocent people whose only crime is to be Jewish? Not soldiers, but people like myself, who happens to live in a crumbling forty-year-old cinder-block house in a small agricultural community – that happens to be less than 5km from where a bunch of murderous arab-muslims live.

I wonder if he ever heard that if he would believe it? if he would be appalled by it? if he would cheer the very proper intentions of those on the front lines of the Arab-Muslim war against the Jews and the state of Israel? He doesn’t sound hate-filled or irrational. His news sources are incomplete and severely biased is all. He has access to the internet, clearly, and equally clearly he seeks out those things that agree with his view of the world. As do I. As do all of us.

The thing that I cling to against all else is that – if we stopped shooting, we would be dead. If they stopped shooting, the war would be over. It is really that simple – all causes and historical justifications notwithstanding.

I am sorry to have brought in religious/political stuff in what was basically supposed to be a blog about what it is like to live in a war zone – in THIS war zone. But any such blog would not be complete without the part where I cannot turn on the television or radio, look at a newspaper or log on to facebook without seeing and reading such horrible lies about us, about the war, about the situation in Gaza. I really wish people could come here and see, for real. I wish people could come here and see the people of Gaza being treated by Israeli doctors, living in comfortable homes, watching first run movies. I really wish they could see the difference between a state that is really, truly ‘apartheid,’ meaning that they do not allow anyone different in the place that they control; and a state that accommodates more religious, racial, and language differences than most countries many times its size.

What it is like to know that you are basically alone.

Eh, forget all of that. It is a waste of time. And of course everyone always believes that their side is on the side of right, and good; don’t they?

It is a quiet day so far. No rockets yet, and only a few really big bangs from the artillery. I sent my youngest son away to a friend in the north because we were afraid that it would be really bad again, but so far it is not. I figure he can stay up there for a while longer, though. I never want him to look as he did before we finally sent him off to friends last week. At least he got some sleep. I want to be sure that things are at least quiet enough for sleep.

The house is very quiet now, with only The Husband and I and the critters here. We are now in the state of nerves where nothing is happening, but we can’t relax because you never know. In some ways this is harder than when the rockets are coming, when the big guns are firing. So quiet and peaceful, and I jump at every little surge of the air conditioner or when the dogs start barking.

Obviously I pray that this peacefulness continues, but I also really hope that, as long as they have begun, the IDF finishes the job they started to do. It is important not to give in to pressure from the U.S. and Turkey. It is important to make sure that our borders are as safe as we can make them.

I am afraid for myself and my family, for my community and my country. But maybe I’m the lucky one – at least I never take any of that for granted. My wish is that everyone can appreciate what they have and what is good in their lives today.

One thought on “What’s good

Leave a Reply

