Still learning after all these years

I’ve got the keyboard connected (via bluetooth) to the iPad, and managed to get here to wordpress on the iPad with a few interesting side-trips.  While I am waiting for T(he) H(usband) to scan my rav-kav, (I can’t for the life of me figure out how to get to Hebrew with this set-up), I wanted to talk about bathrooms.  Sherutim.  Specifically at the Sderot train station.

What can I say?  As a wheelchair user, the status of bathrooms is very important to me.  When I find one I can use – that Hasn’t been turned into a storage room for some store, restaurant or gas station – which I can actually Get INTO in the wheelchar – and once inside can actually CLOSE THE DOOR (you might not think that is a big deal, but for some reason I do) – well, then I can finally start to review more basic things like availability of the toilet paper, rails, sink, cleanliness…

So the bathroom for wheelchair (in the future ‘w/c’) users at the Sderot train station was a really class act.  I could, in fact, get all the way in to the room in my w/c.  I could then *maneuver* inside the room to be able to close the door, and once the door was closed, position myself for transfer to the toilet.  I understand some of the able-bodied might be a little squeamish or uncomfortable about plain speaking about the using of toilet facilities, but for some of us there is no longer room for such niceties as squeamishness.  So – get over it or don’t, I don’t care.   😉

I wish I were actually able to do all these things by myself – but someone even a little more functional than myself could use these facilities with relative ease.  It was clean, the paper roll was convenient and stocked.  There was no actual hot water from the tap, but that does seem to be common in public facilities in Israel.  My only complaint, if there was one, is that the hand-dryer was positioned so that I had to hold my hands up over my head in order to dry them.  There are paper towels, but the dispenser is affixed to the opposite wall from the sink.  I understand that the placement of the hand dryer is always going to be a compromise, but for me it was just too high, and having to get myself to the paper towels with my hands still wet is a bit of a pain to say the least.  Still, 4 stars, or A+, or whatever grading measure I am using.  I hope they will maintain these facilities up to the present standard.  It was almost a treat.

Okay, the bad news is I can’t get the scanned images of my rav-kav to post here, I’m going to have to get to the computer and move them from there.  So that is for another time.  By the time I’m done with this I ought to be fairly proficient in figuring out when to get one of my kids to do this for me.  For now, though, I’m stumbling along with minimal help.  Thanks for reading along, more later.

w/c mom

Leave a Reply

